The Weekend Before Basic

My husband and three children are playing in the rain. Not a nice gentle rain, but a torrential summer downpour! Crazy goofs, I’m thinking smugly – safe inside my car away from the wind and rain, lightning . . . and, what’s this?  Laughter?

They were laughing and having a blast!! I pulled out my camera and took a few snapshots. My family was safe together, happy together, dancing and playing in the rain. Mischievously, they yelled at the sky: Go ahead, storm, do your best!

Suddenly it occurred to me that in just a few days, we’d no longer be together; perhaps we shall never dance in the rain as a family again. Our soldier was leaving for Basic Training. We did not know what the future held, but we knew our lives were about to change forever. Tears filled my eyes. Before I even realized what I was doing, I leapt from the car to join in the dance.

Let those thunderclouds roll in, we’re a family, and together we are invincible! No amount of distance between us can ever change that! This is one of those precious moments that I’ll treasure forever and ever.

Psalm 5:11-12(NIV) – But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you. For surely, O LORD, you bless the righteous; you surround them with your favor as with a shield.

Leave a Reply

