My Madison Rising Experience

“The sober people of America are weary of the fluctuating policy which has directed the public councils. They have seen with regret and indignation that sudden changes and legislative interferences, in cases affecting personal rights, become jobs in the hands of enterprising and influential speculators, and snares to the more-industrious and less informed part of the community. They have seen, too, that one legislative interference is but the first link of a long chain of repetitions, every subsequent interference being naturally produced by the effects of the preceding.” –  President James Madison

I first saw the band Madison Rising sing the National Anthem on a TV news show. I have always been very staunchly “traditional” when it came to our anthem, but I was mesmerized by this group’s version from the very first few lines. I realized that these young men could bring a whole new generation to the place where they would love our National Anthem for the treasure that it is.

I looked the band up on Face Book and messaged them. And got a response! Amazing. Real people! How refreshing!

I purchased the first album and loved it. I am a military mom and a firefighter’s daughter, so I of course appreciated their unabashed love of our heroes. And they play amazing rock, like back when rock was young. I have not been so “into” a band since my teenage years! A middle-aged grandmother of six, and here I am just nutty for a rock band again!

The band posted that they would be performing at the Great Georgia Air Show, and I immediately bought tickets. I knew my husband would enjoy the air show, and I was super excited to actually be able to hear my new favorite band play live.

We found the venue early and picked a shady spot to hang out. Then I spotted Dave setting up behind the stage area. I told my husband I was going to go say hello. What a thrill for me! I felt like a silly school girl. Dave was so nice, and he called the guys over to snap pictures. They made my day! And they rocked! It was an awesome day. I even offered to open my home to stay in the next time they are in the Atlanta area, and I meant it! I just absolutely love these All-American young men!

This band can bridge the generations and bring back a sense of pride that is sadly disappearing in our nation. They fill both the young and old with a sense of joy at knowing there IS still hope for our country, that it IS NOT TOO LATE to bring American heritage and pride back into the mainstream.

Now that they have received some nationwide exposure, the very loud and obnoxious crowd is shouting horrible things about these terrific young men, without ever meeting them or really listening to them. That’s a real shame. I hope the bad press will quickly blow past and they can continue to bless those of us who “get them.”

The second CD is even better than the first, and I cannot wait to watch as this band rockets to success! Rock on, MR!

Leave a Reply

