Get Up!

But you, O LORD, be not far off; O my Strength, come quickly to help me. (Psalm 22:19 NIV)

 

How do we get through another day missing our soldier? Sometimes I just want to stay in bed under my covers! I know this does no good; I realize there are still chores to do, errands to run, bills to pay, people to see – it is the simple daily routines that actually help the days to pass.

Whatever I am going through pales in comparison to what my soldier faces daily. I ponder on that for a moment and begin to chuckle. My soldier would kick me right out from under those covers!

Of course, when I consider the sufferings of my Savior Jesus Christ, I am put to shame. No pity-party for me today! Suddenly, I realize that I have miraculously gained the strength to get up and move. God gives us a beautiful new day, let us rejoice and be glad!

So, throw back those covers and get moving! Most likely, your soldier has been up and working hard for hours already! How dare you loll about, whining!

Get up, sing a song in the shower, have that first cup of coffee, and go have a wonderful day!

 

“Lord, on those days when I just want to bury my head and sleep the entire day away, speak words of encouragement to me. Urge my heart to leap with joy, command my feet to dance, and guide my hands to serve. Remind me of the long hours my soldier endures, the sufferings of others, the passion of Christ, and bring me to my knees.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

