The Hand Dream (a poem)

The Hand Dream

My dreams were filled with torture

My mind could find no peace.

Fears would overtake me –

My worries would not cease.

 

‘Til woven in a dream one night

A picture filled my head;

The peace of God rushed over me

As I lay there on my bed.

 

I saw the very hand of God

Stretch forth through time and space

To reach right down from Heaven

And stroke my soldier’s face!

 

Lifting up my hero –

The hand of God’s own Son

Could place my soldier in His palm

As he were the only one!

 

My dream went on to teach me

These things I ought to know –

God counts the hairs upon our heads

Because He loves us so!

 

This massive hand from Heaven

Can cradle all the earth,

Or touch a freckle on our nose

To demonstrate our worth!

 

When worry overcomes me now

I picture in my mind

The hand of God protecting us-

So strong, and yet, so kind

 

Warriors far from their home

Are never out of reach –

God’s fingers of protective care

Caress and love, or guide and teach.

 

Moment by moment, day by day,

In prayer and praise and psalm,

I trust that Christ now firmly holds

My hero in His palm!

                                                       ©Carol Channer

Leave a Reply

