Waiting (A Poem)

 

Waiting

Waiting for time to fly so fast,

For months to pass, I yearn;

Waiting for the day to come

When my soldier will return.

 

Waiting for peace on earth to come

For terror to abate;

For love to come upon the earth

Erasing all this hate.

 

Waiting for misery to end –

Of hunger, pain and war –

For babes to grow up safely

Each cherished and adored.

 

Waiting for the day to come

When Christ comes on a cloud,

And tells the angel Gabriel

To blow his trumpet loud!

 

The waiting we must suffer now

Will someday fade away,

When with the Savior we shall live

Forever and a day!

 

Until my soldier comes back home

I patiently will wait,

While looking toward the eastern sky

To Heaven’s open gate.

 

I eagerly await the day

When Christ will claim His own;

We’ll fly to Heaven’s peaceful land,

To worship ‘round God’s throne.

 

I wait the day that’s coming soon –

My soldier, home to stay!

The Lord shall be returning, too –

I’m waiting for that day!

                                                    ©Carol Channer

Leave a Reply

