Serenity seems totally unattainable sometimes – it flits within our grasp, and then dances just out of reach, or disappears altogether, but one of my goals in life is to become a more serene person.

To me, serenity is a combination – or culmination – of all the gifts of the Spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, gentleness, faithfulness, self-control, and goodness. All of these unite together to define, in my mind, at least, the true meaning of serenity.

Some day, I hope to be able to reflect back upon my life, look at the lives my husband and I, our children and grandchildren, and be at peace. Even better, though, is to be able to look at my life today, at this very instant, and be at peace with what I see now. It is a process.

Most days I feel that I am getting somewhat better at it. It probably helps that my soldiers are not, at the moment, dodging bullets and dealing with terrorists, but even during those kinds of times in our lives, I will continue to strive for this inner calmness that truly can only be found while sitting in the lap of the Lord.

Even amidst the turmoils of everyday life, by diligently protecting and constantly striving to perfect these nine traits, these precious gifts, it is possible to obtain that allusive, yet oh so cherished treasure called serenity. It isn’t easy, but then, when is motherhood, especially Military Motherhood ever a really easy thing?! It is, however, very much worth the effort!

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, long-suffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,

gentleness, self-control (Galatians 5:22, 23 NIV).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s