Priceless Instant Message

Hi Mom, I love you. Can’t stay online, gotta go. Kisses!

Who would have ever thought that so few words could be so priceless! It had been nearly two weeks since anyone had heard anything from my soldier. I quickly replied to my soldier’s I.M., but already, he was off-line.

Just last night I had prayed about the level of fear that was threatening to overtake me. I don’t want to live in a constant state of extreme fear. I want to be strong, full of faith, ever-hopeful. I don’t like the “scared me.”

I had tried to keep the “No news is good news” frame of mind, but as day after day passed with no word from my soldier, fear started to win the battle.

But God heard my plea and answered my prayer. It wasn’t the length of the “conversation” that mattered; it was the peace God flooded into my soul again! He knew that I was starting to come unglued, and sent me exactly what I needed!

With a deep sigh, relieved, I pushed away from my computer, knowing that my soldier is in the care of our loving Father, and, yes, so am I!

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.” –1Peter 5:6 NIV

PS – I resisted the urge to change this one to the past tense, leaving it the way I originally penned it. This was after Bergdahl had walked away from his post nearby. (Same Battalion, different Company.) My son had been able to tell us about him just before they had put everyone on communications lock-down. So not knowing what was happening was pretty horrible. The next we heard was a text to his wife on July 5th (search “July 4th Attack on Zerok” on You Tube) saying “I’m OK” (he wasn’t but he was alive!) – then nothing again. (Families had to be notified.) Then, finally, my IM. . .

Leave a Reply

